Tao Te Ching, Chapter 40

25 09 2009

Tao Te Ching, Chapter 40:

In Tao, the only motion is returning;
The only useful quality, weakness.
For though all creatures under heaven are the products of Being,
Being itself is the product of Not-being. (Waley)

I find myself in complete agreement with the first line, if not the whole entry.

Consider that in 1999, I was…

+ Living in an apartment, alone. (My brother moved out and I had to try and support a 2-bedroom apartment on 1-bedroom wages.)

+ Living in a third-floor apartment.

+ Working a blue collar warehouse job.

+ Single.

Ten years later, I am…

+ Living in an apartment, alone, with the exception of my dog Magic, who doesn’t pay rent.

+ Living in a third-floor apartment. (At least I wisely opted for a 1BR this time.)

+ Working a blue collar retail job.

+ Single (divorced).

Here’s to a better 2019.

Actions

Information




