September 26 2009 Wine Inventory

26 09 2009

First in an occasional series.

Since this is a virtual scratch pad for my edification and entertainment (it had better be), I thought it might be interesting to take a snapshot of sorts of my ever changing wine stash.

As of today, September 26, 2009, I have the following wines on hand and awaiting consumption:

White

2007 La Crema Chardonnay (375ml, USA, California)

Red

2003 Bolla Amarone della Valpolicella (750ml, Italy)
2004 Laurona Montsant (750ml, Spain) **
2005 Rombauer Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (375ml, USA, California)
2005 Olabisi Petite Sirah (750ml, USA, California)
2005 Louis M Martini Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2005 Ravenswood Sonoma County Zinfandel (750ml, USA, California)
2006 Trapiche Broquel Malbec (750ml, Argentina)
2006 Ventisquero Carmenere Reserva (750ml, Chile)
2006 Vinum PETS Petite Sirah (750ml, USA, California)
2006 Mollydooker “The Maitre D'” Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Australia)
2007 Trapiche Oak Cask Malbec (750ml, Argentina)
2007 Terrazas de los Andes Malbec (750ml, Argentina)
2007 Layer Cake Primitivo (750ml, Italy)
2007 Domaine de Couron Little Canyon (750ml, France) **

** Blend

Notes:

+ I am all about the Petite Sirah, not that one would surmise this from the above list. I had more on hand but they have been consumed and not counted as part of this exercise. I just received a tip concerning Mexican (!) Petite Sirah, and am eager to track it down.

+ My wine tolerance seems to be half of a 750ml bottle, so where possible I am buying 375ml bottles. I just bought a 375ml bottle of Ruffino Chianti among must jeering, but hey, for cooking it was an excellent “economy” selection with a bit left over to drink with dinner. I’m very excited that I was able to procure a bottle of Rombauer Cabernet as that is normally far out of my price range.

+ The Amarone was a gift, lest anyone think I have “Amarone Money”.

+ The Laurona Montsant was a find over at Corner Wines, where I’m not just a competitor, I’m a customer! AMAZING Spanish wine and one that I am holding for a special occasion. Not too special, however, as I want to enjoy it soon and not have it rot while I wait for the “perfect” moment.

+ Same with the Olabisi PS.

+ My latest “pimp it” wine is Layer Cake Primitivo. If I thought it was kosher to say this to our customers, I’d simply ask, “do you want to have multiple orgasms or not?” I pose this question instead to you, the erstwhile reader.

+ I am not sure if I am going to resume writing out formal wine reviews (as I did previously at my old site) but I’ll be interested to see how this list changes over the coming months. There’s lots of great wine out there… explore!

Actions

Information




