November 27, 2009 Wine Inventory

28 11 2009

Third in an occasional series.

As of today, November 27, 2009, I have the following wines on hand and awaiting consumption:

White

Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio (375ml, Italy)

Red

NV Seven Daughters Red (750ml, USA, California) **
2003 Bolla Amarone della Valpolicella (750ml, Italy)
2003 Villa Antinori Super Tuscan (750ml, Italy) **
2004 Benegas Don Tiburcio (750ml, Argentina) **
2004 Laurona Montsant (750ml, Spain) **
2005 Caro Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Argentina)
2005 Andre Lurton Chateau Bonnet Bordeaux Rouge (750ml, France) **
2005 M Cosentino Ol Red (750ml, USA, California) — see notes below **
2005 Olabisi Petite Sirah (750ml, USA, California)
2005 Louis M Martini Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2006 Delas Freres Merlot (750ml, France)
2007 337 Lodi Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Delas St-Esprit Cotes du Rhone (750ml, France) **
2007 Clos de los Siete (750ml, Argentina) **
2007 Domaine de Couron Little Canyon (750ml, France) **
2007 Santa Rita Cabernet Sauvignon Reserva (750ml, Chile)
2008 Folie a Deux Menage a Trois Red (750ml, USA, California) **
2008 Terra Noble Pinot Noir Reserva (750ml, Chile)

** Blend

Sample Bottles (Temporarily stashing them at home to bring to work for tasting events)

2007 Catena Chardonnay (750ml, Argentina)

Notes:

  • Update: The Amarone and Caro were gifts.
  • White wine finally makes an appearance, however it is a clearance bottle of Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio. I figure it is (clap the syllables) o-ver-ra-ted, but hey, it was on clearance at the grocery and now I can have an informed yet rhythmic opinion.
  • I made mention in my previous inventory snapshot of a cheap-yet-good French Merlot. It is the Delas. Our store sells it for $8, and my, is it a nice one to have on hand for stews. Stews and other comfort foods are ramping up at Chez EJ so I grabbed a bottle today to ensure it is close at hand. The CDR was another cheapie find at Costco, and after sampling a particularly awful Merlot on Thanksgiving Day, I wished I would have popped that bottle open to cook with and have with dinner. I’m very hopeful that the CDR is on par with (or better than) the Merlot.
  • I was reading a book called The Truth About Food that claimed that one of the better wines to drink for the health benefits is Chilean Cabernet. I swear I bought the above bottle randomly at Costco before reading that. South America is quite the fount of decent yet inexpensive wines, and with luck this “blind” purchase will bear that out. Or not… but hey, it was another $8 bottle. Notice a trend?
  • Another trend that needs to end quickly, but won’t: I think it is fair to say that 99.999999% of wines from South America are “reserva”. What, do they water plants with the non-reserve stuff? There once was a time that “reserve” actually meant something, but not anymore. Really, I don’t make buying decisions based on the claim of “reserve” on the label since it is void of any real substance. The “reserve” Pinot Noir was – wait for it – another $8-ish Costco offering.
  • Yes, I spent $7 (gotcha!) on a bottle of Menage a Trois red because what the hell, it’s good with grilled meats. Not everything has to be a 95+ Cellar Selection from Wine Spectator to be appreciated.
  • Speaking of, I hadn’t had steak in months when I finally bought a broiler pan and had top sirloin with seasoned potatoes. OH MY GOD. I was in absolute juicy steak food-coma overload, and made a critical error: I opened my bottle of Rombauer Cabernet to add to the festivities. The steak-gasm was so intense that I had to finally take a moment to notice something, anything, about the wine. I can attest that Rombauer is worth the money but be a little more jaded about steak before having any with dinner. I drank the Trapiche Oak Cask Malbec with steak and mushroom rice the following weekend and everything played together beautifully, plus I was more acclimated to steak.
  • I was kinda shocked to learn that I picked up a non-vintage (NV) wine or two in my travels. There’s nothing necessarily wrong with that. Some highly rated wines are “NV” – and I don’t mean the Champagnes. Cain Five comes immediately to mind. Seven Daughters was picked up as part of my ongoing “learn the product” tasting efforts as the sales reps can’t supply free bottles of everything and anything. I have had customers ask for my informed opinion, and other than saying “I think it is a wine you can buy” one of these days I’ll be able to relate my expert novice opinion. Cosentino Ol Red is officially an NV wine, but it was released in 2005 and I am fudging the numbers (as other online vendors have) and calling it a vintaged non-vintage wine. It is “out of print” anyway so it will be a footnote in the annals of wine lore soon enough.

There’s lots of great wine out there… explore!

Actions

Information




