National Girls and Women in Sports Day

3 02 2010

Unfortunately, I wasn’t made aware of this until the waning hours, but today (what is left of it) is National Girls and Women in Sports Day.

Having been alerted to this occasion, better late than never to write about something that has been nagging at me a while.

Per the official site:

Despite the stunning advances made in the 38 years since Title IX was enacted, high school girls still receive 1.3 million fewer participation opportunities than do boys, and evidence suggests that the money spent on girls’ sports programs lags significantly behind the money spent on boys’ programs.

Since I’m back on my hockey kick lately, one memento that I take home after RWHL games is the latest copy of Ice Times Magazine. It is geared toward promoting amateur hockey in Texas and Oklahoma.

I am hesitant to “call them out”, so I’ll do my best to explore this topic gingerly: I was struck by the lack of female hockey players and organizations featured in the (free) magazine.

To be fair, if I am reading the fine print correctly Ice Times is reliant on photo submissions from their readership. If 100 photos come in and 99 are of males, then yes, males will be dominant in the photo galleries. Perhaps it can be rightly argued that I am either part of the problem or part of the solution as I could submit photos of the RWHL games for consideration/publication. Since I am in no way affiliated with that organization other than erstwhile fan, I don’t feel comfortable taking photos of the players and sending them in without their knowledge or consent. I liken it to taking photos of other people’s children, only with a little less “creep factor”.

For my part, I think I will honor the spirit of the occasion by reaching out to the RWHL to determine what conditions must be met for them to be comfortable with an outsider sending game photos to Ice Times for publication. Further, I was disappointed to see that the Organizations listing in the magazine was outdated and incorrect as some female teams apparently have folded some time ago. I was looking forward to “discovering” more female leagues – no disrespect to the RWHL but I work Sundays – only to be faced with dead ends. The latest issue showed some unfamiliar teams so maybe discoveries will yet be made. I am not sure who maintains the list or where the information was dredged up for publication so that’s another “be part of the solution” opportunity.

There are several events scheduled throughout the year to build on the theme of this year’s National Girls and Women in Sports Day. Click here to view the events calendar.

Actions

Information




