February 13, 2010 Wine Inventory

13 02 2010

Another installment in an occasional series.

As of today, February 13, 2010, I have the following wines on hand and awaiting consumption:

White

2006 Thomas Henry Russian River Valley Chardonnay (750ml, USA, California)

Red

NV Cain Cuvee (750ml, USA, California) **
2003 Bolla Amarone della Valpolicella (750ml, Italy)
2004 Laurona Montsant (750ml, Spain) **
2005 Boutari Naoussa (750ml, Greece)
2005 Caro Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Argentina)
2005 Paringa Merlot (750ml, Australia)
2006 Elizabeth Rose Napa Pinot Noir (750ml, USA, California)
2006 Roessler Clos Pepe Pinot Noir (750ml, USA, California)
2007 337 Lodi Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Domaine de Couron Little Canyon (750ml, France) **
2007 Independent Producers “La Bourgeoisie” Merlot (750ml, USA, Washington)
2007 Layer Cake Primitivo (750ml, Italy)
2007 Ruffino Chianti (375ml, Italy)
2008 Crios Malbec Rose (750ml, Argentina)
2008 Fairview Pinotage (750ml, South Africa)
2008 Pinol Ludovicus (750ml, Spain)

** Blend

Sample Bottles (Temporarily stashing them at home to bring to work for tasting events)

2005 Parker Station Petite Sirah (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Baron K’ Rheingau Kabinett Riesling (750ml, Germany)

Notes:

  • Update: The Amarone, Caro, and Crios were gifts.
  • Cain Cuvee is the bottom rung of the Cain ladder. We had to burn off overstock at work so I picked up a bottle for less than cost. This is why, on occasion, I can have nice things. I used the wine in my cooking and made the best stew EVER. Since the stew requires about half of the bottle, I drank the rest, bien sur, and thought it was “okay” but was glad I got it for less than cost. I picked up one more bottle while the fire sale persisted so the killer stew could have an encore performance someday.
  • We got a killer deal on the Paringa Merlot ($5 retail) so I grabbed a bottle to try and of course, cook with.
  • Republic National has dropped Boutari from their portfolio. I don’t know if this means Glazer’s picked it up, or if we in the Dallas metro area are soon to be without Boutari wines for the foreseeable future. The Naoussa is excellent with mushroom risotto. I’ll be sad to see this one go but I’ll give it a proper send-off.
  • I have been tempted to write a series of posts titled “Behind the Counter” giving some insights into the beer and wine retail scene, but I think for my purposes (and to stay out of trouble) I will reserve my comments for this series. I was sampling some wines recently and made the analogy that sampling wines for retail is like being an A&R rep for a record company. Many a songwriting book states that A&R reps have to plow through a large number of submitted songs for consideration, and if the song doesn’t catch fire from the first 3 notes, it is doomed.

    Tasting for retail seems to be similar, in that the wine isn’t being given the best opportunity to shine. Often, wines require food for balance and context, and it is not easy to provide the missing blanks mentally when standing over a retail counter testing out 2oz of wine and furiously scribbling tasting notes.

    If in doubt, I try to have other staff members try the wine and get a consensus opinion, or else take the remainder of the bottle home to have with food (or sip over several hours). Some wines that would have normally missed the cut have been redeemed under these circumstances.

There’s lots of great wine out there… explore!

Actions

Information




