March 6, 2010 Wine Inventory

6 03 2010

Another installment in an occasional series.

As of today, March 6, 2010, I have the following wines on hand and awaiting consumption:

White

2006 Thomas Henry Russian River Valley Chardonnay (750ml, USA, California)

Red

NV Cain Cuvee (750ml, USA, California) **
2003 Bolla Amarone della Valpolicella (750ml, Italy)
2003 Peter Franus Napa Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2004 Laurona Montsant (750ml, Spain) **
2005 Boutari Naoussa (750ml, Greece)
2005 Caro Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Argentina)
2005 Domaine Jacques Prieur Beaune Champs-Pimont Premier Cru (750ml, France)
2006 Ornellaia Le Serre Nuove (750ml, Italy) **
2007 337 Lodi Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Domaine de Couron Little Canyon (750ml, France) **
2007 Fat Bastard Pinot Noir (750ml, France)
2007 Independent Producers “La Bourgeoisie” Merlot (750ml, USA, Washington)
2007 Layer Cake Primitivo (750ml, Italy)
2007 Ruffino Chianti (375ml, Italy)
2008 Crios Malbec Rose (750ml, Argentina)
2008 Fairview Pinotage (750ml, South Africa)
2008 Padrillos Malbec (750ml, Argentina)
2008 Pinol Ludovicus (750ml, Spain)

** Blend

Sample Bottles (Temporarily stashing them at home to bring to work for tasting events)

2005 Parker Station Petite Sirah (750ml, USA, California)
2007 14 Hands Cabernet (750ml, USA, Washington)
2007 14 Hands Merlot (750ml, USA, Washington)
2008 Layer Cake Malbec (750ml, Argentina)
2008 Layer Cake Shiraz (750ml, Australia)
2008 Nobilo Sauvignon Blanc (750ml, New Zealand)

Notes:

  • Update: The Amarone, Caro, Crios, Franus, and Ornellaia were gifts.
  • ZOMG I have a bottle of Ornellaia Le Serre Nuove! Thanks boss (again)! Lest anyone think I am rolling in dough, I so can’t afford even this “second pressing” version of Ornellaia. I appreciate what blessings I might receive.
  • Vendor wine closeout lists are my friend. Case in point, the 2005 Jacques Prieur Burgundy. Retail: $90. Closeout cost: $20. For Premier Cru Burgundy. I have another wine stashed away at work for when I can afford it that won’t be as dramatic a find but will be a fairly cost effective “decent” wine to try in and with my Daube de Boeuf. The stews and comfort foods season is slipping away quickly so I can’t hold off much longer to make another batch.
  • Yes, sometimes I keep the sample bottles from the vendors – especially those that didn’t make the cut to be sold in-house. The Fat Bastard did make the cut (vendor favor) but as I have never tried any of their wines I kept the bottle. The Padrillos Malbec seemed decent enough but it’s getting pretty cutthroat in our Malbec section and it couldn’t dethrone existing picks. I’ll have it with a steak or burgers some evening. FYI, for anyone who cares to know this, I don’t review wines on this site mostly for this reason. Rather than have erstwhile readers question my sincerity or authenticity I’d prefer to clam up and simply post a running list of my home “cellar” (such as it is) for entertainment and amusement.
  • One wine that has since been consumed after appearing on a previous list was the Roessler Clos Pepe Pinot Noir. Oh, my god. Silky smooth, and one of those wines where I declare “this ends when I say it ends.” I got it from Costco for something like $17.99. I didn’t keep the receipt but I really can’t afford its suggested retail of $50. I’m sure they’re long gone from Costco now but if any remain, BUY BUY BUY. And enjoy!
  • People have been coming in to the store asking for 14 Hands and Nobilo. I figure they must be on a wine list somewhere locally like Carrabba’s. I forget where I was – BJ’s maybe? – and saw the Nobilo on the list but opted for beer as it was cheaper. Sauvignon Blanc is a tough sell, so it might not make the cut. Sauvignon Blanc itself can be a fine wine, but I find it to be best with food and you really have to be in the mood for it. Las Mujeres seem to be all about the Moscatos if they’re “just” drinking wine these days. Give Sauvignon Blanc some love, people! How about with a salad or grilled shrimp?

There’s lots of great wine out there… explore!

Actions

Information




