WPS: Fantasy!

12 04 2010

Okay, fine, I drank the kool-aid and accepted the WPS Fantasy Challenge. I have never played “fantasy” anything, but when I saw that Beulah formed a league over there, I had to give it a try. Plus, I like the idea of being able to complain week after week that “[player] is KILLING my fantasy team.”

So who did I pick?

WPS fantasy roster

Who dat, gonna beat them WPS Fantasy Playaz?

The basic set up is you have a $10 million budget to field 11 players. Top shelf talent like Hope Solo costs upwards of $1 million so you can’t field a team of ringers (yet – not sure if the budget ever goes up). Budget be damned, I say, and Hope Solo (Athletica) was #1 on my roster, and captain to boot.

I was thinking in terms of this being an actual team instead of a stats wonkery exercise, but when I got wise to how the game is played, I went with a 3-5-2 formation as defenders will apparently cost you points rather than net any. Getting carded or allowing goals subtracts points.

Deee-fense: Stephanie Cox (Breakers), Meghan Schnur (Sky Blue FC), Daphne Koster (Sky Blue FC).

Koster seems to be a terror in defense so I for sure wanted her on the squad. Cox is on despite being -1 so far mostly as a sop to the USWNT. As this is a numbers racket, I think as the season wears on a lot of rosters are going to be a lot less fanboy/fangirl-ish and more pragmatic as certain players stand out as high value acquisitions.

Midfield: Heather O’Reilly (Sky Blue FC), Allie Long (Freedom), Sonia Bompastor (Freedom), Shannon Boxx (Athletica), Camile Abily (FC Gold Pride).

Bompastor, bom bom bom, bom bommmmm. I am hoping for a big year for Sonia Bompastor but so far she is in the red for being carded.

Boxx, Abily, and O’Reilly are no-brainers (to me) because they’re either scoring threats in their own right or the offense flows through them anyway, which means they should bag some collateral points.

Forwards: Eniola Aluko (Athletica), Kelly Smith (Breakers).

Hmmm, this could get ugly this week as STL plays BOS. Well, consider it a hedge bet then. I might have to change this a bit to maximize points potential but generally I want these two up front. STL is all about Aluko being their goal scorer, and Kelly Smith is Kelly Smith, and she’s going to do what she’s going to do. I would pick Marta however the week 1 game was a good reminder that she can’t do it all by herself. I think teams are getting wise to Marta’s tendency to play every position on the field if she isn’t getting the ball sent forward to her enough.

I am in the standings as “AABlog”. Current (starting) ranking: #1345.

Things can only get better.

Actions

Information




