April 13, 2010 Wine Inventory

13 04 2010

Another installment in an occasional series.

As of today, April 13, 2010, I have the following wines on hand and awaiting consumption:

White

2006 Thomas Henry Russian River Valley Chardonnay (750ml, USA, California)

Red

NV Cain Cuvee (750ml, USA, California) **
2001 Chateau Camplazens Premium Coteaux de Languedoc La Clape 2001 (750ml, France) **
2003 Bolla Amarone della Valpolicella (750ml, Italy)
2005 Boutari Naoussa (750ml, Greece)
2005 Caro Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Argentina)
2005 Domaine Jacques Prieur Beaune Champs-Pimont Premier Cru (750ml, France)
2006 Fetish “The Watcher” Shiraz (750ml, Australia)
2006 Ornellaia Le Serre Nuove (750ml, Italy) **
2006 Ravenswood Sonoma County Zinfandel (750ml, USA, California)
2007 337 Lodi Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Cooralook Shiraz (750ml, Australia)
2007 Domaine de Couron Little Canyon (750ml, France) **
2007 Independent Producers “La Bourgeoisie” Merlot (750ml, USA, Washington)
2008 Fairview Pinotage (750ml, South Africa)
2008 Padrillos Malbec (750ml, Argentina)
2008 Pinol Ludovicus (750ml, Spain)

** Blend

Sample Bottles (Temporarily stashing them at home to bring to work for tasting events)

2007 Tuck Beckstoffer “Est. 1975” Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Tuck Beckstoffer “The Sum” Red Blend (750ml, USA, California) **
2008 Tuck Beckstoffer “Est. 1975” Sauvignon Blanc (750ml, USA, California)
2008 Nobilo Sauvignon Blanc (750ml, New Zealand)

** Blend

Notes:

  • Standard disclaimer: The Amarone, Caro, and Ornellaia were gifts.
  • And as a friendly reminder, I work for a local wine/beer retail chain. This personal inventory is presented for entertainment purposes only. Opinions expressed here are my own and not those of my employer, but as you are not reading this on their web site, no endorsement should be inferred anyway. Just sayin’.
  • Vendor wine closeout lists are my friend. The Camplazens was a find in a recent closeout list and after a visit to the Wine Spectator site revealed this to be a 91-point wine with porcini mushroom notes in there, among others. I snagged it for $20 (my cost, not the cost) and think it will go well with/in Daube de Boeuf sometime. WS claims this wine is at peak this year and then it’s all downhill from there. I’ll report back after I try it with/in the stew and determine if it was a steal or a scam.
  • I grabbed the last bottle of Fetish “The Watcher” Shiraz as once it’s gone (I’m told), it’s gone. Apparently it is tied up in the US courts over blah blah and woof woof, so whatever the hang-up is means I had to act fast or lose it forever. I’m not normally a Syrah/Shiraz fan but I’m buying into the hype over this – 91 points Wine Spectator, claims to be coming into its own this year, snort – so what the hell, right? Here’s my chance to try an acclaimed wine at my leisure.
  • I’d like to note here that French wines drive me batty in that they are region/vintner driven rather than varietal. WTF is “La Clape” wine supposed to be? Turns out it is a blend of things, whereas other flowery wine names might be as commonplace as Cabernet, Merlot, or Pinot Noir. I prefer “new world” wine labeling in that it is clearer what you are buying instead of where. I’m clearly on the wrong side of the issue but had to share.
  • As a final thought, one wine that has since vanished from the prior inventory is the 2003 Peter Franus Cabernet Sauvignon. I try to explain this to people from time to time, and may not do it justice here either, but in short, I think we wine drinkers need a reminder from time to time why we’re doing this. I didn’t drink beer all that much until I was forced to crash-learn it because of my job. I found some craft beers I really enjoy and do my best to apply my wine experience to beer, and appreciate the variances and subtleties in the various offerings. But beer isn’t wine. I find beer to be more of a blunt instrument compared to the nuance and character found in the finer wines – and even some “value” offerings – which is my Holy Grail. I can’t afford to drink Peter Franus wines regularly, but I am grateful for the opportunity I received to experience one of them and was amazed at the quality. People often ask me what’s so great about the expensive wines compared to the cheap stuff. I’ll be the first to agree that there are certainly some overrated – and overpriced – wines on the market. But what I am searching for, and it is well that I don’t find this often, is a wine that makes me sit back and appreciate the overall experience that beer simply cannot replicate. I call these “wow! wines” and when I find one, I get excited about it. This is a “wow!” wine. If you have the opportunity to experience this wine, please do.

There’s lots of great wine out there… explore!

Actions

Information




