August 12, 2010 Wine Inventory

12 08 2010

Another installment in an occasional series.

As of today, August 12, 2010, I have the following wines on hand and awaiting consumption:

White

2008 Martin Händler QbA Riesling (750ml, Germany)

Red

NV Cain Cuvee (750ml, USA, California) **
2001 Chateau Camplazens Premium Coteaux de Languedoc La Clape (750ml, France) **
2003 Bolla Amarone della Valpolicella (750ml, Italy)
2005 Caro Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Argentina)
2005 Chateau Grand-Jean Reserve Bordeaux Blend (750ml, France) **
2005 Chateau Poitevin Cru Bougeois Medoc (375ml, France) **
2005 Domaine Jacques Prieur Beaune Champs-Pimont Premier Cru (750ml, France)
2005 Monte Ducay Reserva (750ml, Spain) **
2006 Concha y Toro Don Melchor Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Chile)
2006 Ornellaia Le Serre Nuove (750ml, Italy) **
2006 Rutherford Hill Merlot (375ml, USA, California)
2007 Pellegrini Olivet Lane Pinot Noir (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Stonehedge Reserve Petite Sirah (750ml, USA, California)
2007 Vina Alicia Cabernet Sauvignon (750ml, Argentina)
2007 Viu Manent Single Vineyard Malbec (750ml, Argentina)
2008 Fairview Pinotage (750ml, South Africa)
2008 Pinol Ludovicus (750ml, Spain)

** Blend

Notes:

  • Standard disclaimer: The Amarone, Caro, Ornellaia, and Viu Manent were gifts.
  • Note: I do not have any current affiliation with the beer and wine industry, however, this personal inventory is presented for entertainment purposes only.
  • Having recently relocated to Illinois (Chicago south suburbs) I am trying to get situated. Fortunately, they have basements here, which means my wine collection is cooling down quite nicely. I feel better about having swanky wines around knowing that there is a much lower risk of “cooking” them. I still can’t afford the really expensive stuff anyway, but I’m just saying.
  • I did splurge a bit and spent a whole $20 over at Trader Joe’s (not an option in Plano Texas) and got 5 wines. A few are listed here. The quality has been hit & miss (duh) but the Händler Riesling was a decent offering for a mere $5.99. As surmised by the above list, I am not heavy into white wines but it’s nice to have inexpensive-yet-decent options for those times I want some.
  • I have been checking out the beer & wine scene locally and have found a few really good stores. I will pass along more information in a future update. It has been a while since I posted a wine list and I wanted to take another snapshot of sorts.
  • French wines are creeping into my stash. Having just finished reading a snooty wine book I wanted to try out some random French wines to see if I can sniff and sip my way around and then compare to “new world” wines. Hey, we all need a hobby.

There’s lots of great wine out there… explore!

Actions

Information




